School Dístríct of Waupaca

Cítízenshíp

Academíc Achievement

Responsíbílíty

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING Organizational Meeting

April 25, 2017 Minutes

Pursuant to the regulations, the regular board meeting was held on the above date in the District Office Board Room and Training Center.

PRESIDENTS COMMENTS AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:

Board President Stephen Johnson ask Mr. Martin to lead the Board in the Pledge of Allegiance. Mr. Johnson reported that he was very pleased with the attendance and participation at the recent #WaupacaWay:2K30 event.

CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order by the President, Mr. Stephen Johnson, at 7:05 a.m.

ROLL CALL:

PRESENT: Steven Shambeau, Betty Manion, Sandy Robinson, Dmitri Martin, Stephen Johnson and Steve Hackett. **EXCUSED**: Patrick Phair **ALSO PRESENT**: Carol Beyer-Makuski, Carl Hayek, John Erspamer and Greg Nyen

APPROVAL OF AGENDA:

A motion was made by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Steven Shambeau to approve the agenda as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

APPOINT TEMPORARY CHAIRPERSON AND SECRETARY: Mr. Nyen was appointed temporary chairperson by Board President Stephen Johnson. A motion was made by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Betty Manion to name Carol Beyer-Makuski as the Board Secretary. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS: Motion by Sandra Robinson seconded by Betty Manion to nominate Stephen Johnson as President. There were no other nominations. Motion by Sandy Robinson seconded by Steve Hackett to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Stephen Johnson as president. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Motion by Sandra Robinson seconded by Steve Hackett to nominate Betty Manion as Vice-President. There were no other nominations. Motion by Sandy Robinson seconded by Steven Shambeau to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Betty Manion as Vice-President. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Motion by Betty Manion seconded by Steven Shambeau to nominate Sandra Robinson as Treasurer. There were no other nominations. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote to elect Sandra Robinson as Treasurer.

Motion by Sandra Robinson seconded by Steven Shambeau to nominate Patrick Phair as Clerk. There were no other nominations. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote to elect Patrick Phair as Clerk.

ANNUAL APPOINTMENTS: Board President Stephen Johnson made the following committee assignments:

Finance: Sandra Robinson – Chair, Dmitri Martin, Steven Shambeau Instructional: Patrick Phair – Chair, Steve Hackett, Betty Manion Policy: Steve Hackett – Chair, Patrick Phair, Sandra Robinson Personnel: Betty Manion – Chair, Sandra Robinson and Steve Hackett Student Services: Steven Shambeau – Chair, Betty Manion, Dmitri Martin Building & Grounds: Dmitri Martin – Chair, Steven Shambeau, Patrick Phair

WASB Correspondent: Patrick Phair – subject to his agreement **WASB Convention Delegate and Alternate:** Patrick Phair and Sandra Robinson respectively.

CESA Representative: Sandy Robinson **CESA Convention Representative:** Sandy Robinson

OTHER ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING BUSINESS:

Resolution Establishing Regular Meeting Time, Day and Place 042517-1 Motion by Sandra Robinson and second by Steven Shambeau to approve with an amended meeting time for August – May as 5:15 p.m. Motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Authorizing Investment of School District Funds 042517-2

Motion by Betty Manion and second by Sandra Robinson to approve as presented. Motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Authorizing Withdrawal 042517-3

Motion by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Betty Manion to approve with the insertion of the words "all of" just prior to the words … the following persons: in the 2nd paragraph. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

ANNUAL DESIGNATIONS:

Resolution Designating School District Official Publication 042517-4

Motion by Sandy Robinson and seconded by Steve Hackett to approve as presented. Motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Designating Fund Balance 042517-5

Motion by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Steven Shambeau to approve as presented. The motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

Resolution Designating District Depositories 042517-6

Motion by Sandra Robinson and seconded by Steven Shambeau to approve as presented. The motion carried on a voice vote with Stephen Johnson abstaining.

FUTURE DATES:

May 9, 2017 – Regular Board Meeting - 5:15 p.m.

ADJOURN: A motion was made by Steve Hackett and seconded by Steven Shambeau to adjourn the meeting at 7:45 a.m. Motion carried unanimously on a voice vote.

DATE

DATE_____ Stephen Johnson, President Patrick Phair, Clerk Board of Education Board of Education